What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

BACON!

mmm BACON!

Bacon! Who doesn’t love bacon? It is also known as meat-candy or the gateway meat for turning Vegetarians back to “Normal People”. I usually buy uncured bacon from a company called Vermont Smoke and Cure(http://www.vtsmokeandcure.com/Natural-Thick-Sliced-Bacon.html).According to their web-site the bacon is “Made from pork raised without any antibiotics, fed a vegetarian diet and Certified Humane by Humane Farm Animal Care. Cured with water, sea salt, Vermont maple syrup, dehydrated celery juice, natural flavorings, lactic acid starter culture (not from milk).”

I have been reading Paleo blogs and forums and people are usually at odds about Nitrates in bacon.  A lot of people say it doesn’t matter whether the bacon has natural nitrates or artificial nitrates.  They believe it has the same affect on the body.  Scientifically I couldn’t tell you which side is right or wrong but I purchase this type of bacon because the pig is humanely handled and it is fed a vegetarian-diet and raised without antibiotics.  Also it tastes less salty than a lot of other bacons out there.  I enjoy the lower sodium bacon.

As I mentioned before I work on a tug-boat and the chances of getting uncured bacon on the boat are impossible.  I guess I could carry 10lbs of uncured bacon with me on my flight to Texas but I don’t think that would be a great idea.  When I am out to sea I have to indulge in regular bacon, which is also delicious.  I mean I have never seen a piece of bacon I would turn down.

I guess the point of this post is that Bacon is AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

