What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Paleo Baking

I am not much of a baker nor will I ever be.  I have always liked  cooking with whatever I found at home or with whatever grabbed my eye at the grocery-store. A little bit of this and a little bit of that is my style.  Baking is far too “scientific” for me.  I never excelled at math or science, so baking is a no-go.  The precise measurements and mixing of wet ingredients separate of dry ingredients is too much work for me.  When I really started trolling the internet for Paleo recipes, I immediately noticed that for every normal dessert, breakfast item, or snack there is a Paleo version.  These baked goods and desserts usually are made of almond flour, coconut flour, dark chocolate, etc…

The reason I am writing this is that I feel if you are just starting the Paleo diet I would shy away from these items.  Not that they are necessarily bad for you but they could steer you towards regular baked goods and desserts.  I personally don’t regularly indulge in these items.  I still have a favorable amount of weight I want to lose and I am nervous that if I start eating “Paleo treats” I could easily move towards the “Dark-Side” of snacking and eating whole sleeves of Oreos and chocolate chip muffins for breakfast again.

I am not saying that the occasional Paleo treat will kill you, I am suggesting be careful, make it a reward.  If you reach a goal weight, make a batch of Paleo cookies.  If you have stayed Paleo for a certain amount of time, make some Paleo pancakes, etc… Just be careful not to over indulge.  Just because they are a Paleo recipe doesn’t mean they beat a nice piece of fruit or some veggies.

One comment on “Paleo Baking

  1. peachmonkey
    July 8, 2013

    Totally! I have been feeling surprisingly healthy and energized given the quantity of paleo treats I have been baking (and therefore consuming) lately, but I sometimes wish there were some scrappy little kids next door to taste test/kill off my delicious, healthier-than-most naughty goods. Trying to start a bakery, so avoiding overindulging is not the easiest…but not the worst, I suppose. 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2013 by in Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

