What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Slow Cooked Brisket

When in Texas do as the Texans do, cook and eat massive amounts of beef brisket.  I had only eaten brisket as corned beef, I have never had a slow cooked brisket before I came to work in Texas.  I had scoured the internet for recipes when I first bought a 6LB. slab of beef to cook.  I kind of went my own way with cooking it. My method for slow-roasting it is as follows:

  • Make a dry rub – mine consists of pepper, salt, onion powder, mustard powder, cumin, chili powder, and italian seasoning.  I don’t have precise measurments because 6lbs of beef is a lot to spice, so I just wing it.
  • Season both sides liberally and let sit overnight in the fridge
  • preheat oven to broil and sear both sides of meat till brown
  • put 2 cups beef broth and rough chopped onions and celery into pan and cover
  • roast @ 275 degrees for 5 hours

The meat comes out so flavorful with the beef broth au jus in the pan.  It literally just pulls apart.  I topped mine off with some left over Paleo BBQ sauce I made the other day for ribs.  It was phenomenal .

Image

Image

2 comments on “Slow Cooked Brisket

  1. LFFL
    June 29, 2013

    Love it!

  2. JCJ
    June 29, 2013

    You gon’ fry dat?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2013 by in Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

