What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Bulletproof Coffee

Working on a tugboat with weird hours and an even weirder schedule coffee becomes your best friend.  I wasn’t much of a coffee drinker before tugboating but I have learned to enjoy it.  I like a dark roast and when I am home it gets made in a french press.  I wont bring a french press on a boat again, I was made fun of for 3 weeks.  Now at work I use the standard drip machine.

Following the paleo lifestyle now for 19 months I have come across a drink called bulletproof coffee.  I have never really thought about making it until I stumbled upon a few good articles online.  It may sound gross but its not all that bad.  It is a cup of coffee mixed with 1 Tbsp of butter and 1 Tbsp of coconut oil.  Some people use MCT oil, which I haven’t tried because I am lucky enough to find unrefined coconut oil in Texas, I don’t think I will have much luck with MCT oil.  You put all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until frothy.  It is a nice change of pace from black coffee.  Now I don’t think I will be that hardcore to where I will bring the ingredients to a Starbucks and ask them to mix it.  I will just drink my coffee black when I am out.

The theory behind mixing all of the ingredients together is that coconut oil and grass fed butter is loaded with CLA (Conjugated linoleic acid).  Also coconut oil and butter will help you feel full because all of the healthy fats associated with both.  A lot of people who are involved with Intermittent Fasting will drink only water and bulletproof coffee during their fasting periods.

This morning being the first time I tried it, I definitely was not hungry for a few hours after I had my first cup.  I could see drinking my coffee like this when I fast for 24 hours which is normally when I travel or my off days from the gym. I dont know if I could handle it everyday, especially in the summer when I like iced coffee.  Here is a link to a bulletproof coffee website called Bullet Proof Executive.

Image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2013 by in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

