What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Roast Turkey

Tonight was turkey night on the tugboat.  I had a 12LB. bird to roast for the crew.  I rubbed the turkey down with some butter and then spiced it with salt, pepper, lemon juice, paprika, and chili powder. I filled the cavity with halved onions and carrots.  I follow Alton Brown’s turkey roasting recipe found here.  I don’t brine the bird like he suggests, I just follow the roasting instructions:

“Add aromatics to the turkey’s cavity along with the rosemary and sage. Tuck the wings underneath the bird and coat the skin liberally with canola oil.
Roast the turkey on lowest level of the oven at 500 degrees F for 30 minutes. Insert a probe thermometer into thickest part of the breast and reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees F. Set the thermometer alarm (if available) to 161 degrees F. A 14 to 16 pound bird should require a total of 2 to 2 1/2 hours of roasting. Let the turkey rest, loosely covered with foil or a large mixing bowl for 15 minutes before carving.”

In his cookbook he suggests covering the breast with foil in a triangle shape when you turn the oven down to 350 to finish roasting.  I have done this method three or for times and the turkey comes out moist.  I also don’t baste the turkey because opening the oven door while cooking lets the heat escape and I have also read that turkey skin is pretty much waterproof so basting liquid doesn’t actually reach the meat.  Unfortunately I did not get a picture of the turkey because it was hacked up before I could get to it but I got some breast meat and a wing and it was delicious.

Image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2013 by in Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

