What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Steak Night

Nothing beats a fine steak for dinner.  To me there is nothing more primal than eating a slab of beef for a meal.  I prefer to cook my steaks in a skillet.  The skillet provides an even cooking surface for the steak as well as holding a lot of heat.  Now don’t get me wrong I am not going to turn down a steak cooked on the grill but my preference is a skillet cooked steak.  I tend to grill my steaks in the summer time because although my apartment is a penthouse suite with a water view, it is kind of small.  Who am I kidding? My apartment is tiny and the only view of the water I have is when it drips in through my ceiling.  

Steps for cooking a steak in a skillet:

Preheat Oven to 400 Degrees

Season steak with liberal amounts of salt and pepper

  1. Set burner to high and put some coconut oil in the skillet
  2. Place skillet on burner until it is just about to smoke
  3. Set the steak in skillet until you get a nice golden brown crust on one-side
  4. Flip steak
  5. Put skillet in oven for 5-9 mins. depending on how you like your steak cooked
  6. Take skillet out of oven, place steak on plate and let rest 10mins. to let the steak re-absorb it’s juices
  7. Enjoy!

Tonight I had a rib-eye that was about 1/2 inch thick so I placed it in the oven for 5 mins and it came out medium which is how I eat my steak. After letting it rest I topped it off with some sautéed mushrooms and onion and had a Paleo-friendly caesar salad on the side(I’ll post caesar recipe later). Not only do I cook my steaks in the skillet but pork chops and chicken get the same treatment in my house.  Image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2013 by in Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

