What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

What John Mack Used to Eat!

As a fellow Paleo ship-mate was reading the ingredients of a jar of cake frosting there was one phrase that stuck with me…”excess consumption may cause a laxative effect (due to maltitol syrup, isomalt, and sorbitol).”  I have never read the back of a frosting jar before but it came as quite a shock.  What is considered excess consumption? I guess you will find out when you are running towards the bathroom.  It blows my mind that I used to eat this.

It is also another reason why I don’t indulge in the occasional birthday cake. I ran into that problem when I was home at my nephews 7 birthday party.  A relative of mine was hounding me to eat some cake to the point where I almost snapped on him but I kept my cool.  Why would I possibly want to ingest all of the chemicals in frosting let alone what else is in the store-bought sheet cake.  Knowing what I know now, I will never eat a piece of cake again.  It is not worth it to eat chemicals to celebrate a special occasion.  I might as well sniff paint or drink gasoline while I am at it.

Image

One comment on “What John Mack Used to Eat!

  1. Debbie
    September 6, 2013

    Wow. Gotta love food companies.

    I forget how different my eating is from the norm until I get out of my “bubble”, I went on vacation recently and got pretty tired of people’s disbelief that I can’t eat this or that. They think it must be some kind of horrible life I lead.

    But I’m happier than I’ve ever been. I love the food I eat, but don’t obsess over it. I can’t say that about the food I used to eat before paleo-ish :). (I’m actually on something called the GAPS diet, which is quite similar.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

