What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Whole Fruit vs Smoothies

Image

 

I have been eating way too much fruit as of late.  I usually have a serving of frozen berries in my post-workout shake in the morning.  I know it is good to include fruit in your post-workout shakes because the natural sugars actually force protein powder into your muscles.  This is especially good after strength training.  After that I would usually have 1-2 more servings of berries with the occasional banana or apple throughout the day.  Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate fruit, I just personally need to cut back on my intake because it is getting out of control.  I have an addictive personality, thats why I weighed as much as I used to.  So for me cutting out fruit in my smoothies and not buying fruit for a while will help me tame my sugar cravings.  

I also read interesting article in the September 2013 issue of Men’s Journal about the breakdown of eating whole fruits VS. blended or juiced fruits. I will personally go from having a fruit smoothie to having a green smoothie with kale or spinach instead.  I will see how and if it affects my weight loss and muscle development and go from there.  

“A whole, intact apple is quite different from applesauce, even though both have all the same nutrients and fiber,” says Dr. David Ludwig, director of the New Balance Foundation Obesity Prevention Center at Boston Children’s Hospital. The key reason: The fibrous structure in whole fruit helps slow the absorption of fructose, the sugar mainly found in fruit, says Ludwig. Pureeing a fruit diminishes your body’s ability to break down the sugar – and squeezing the fruit and filtering out its fiber (in juice) is even worse. Ludwig says that three to five servings of any kind of whole fruit is healthy, but if you’re eating much more than that, go for temperate fruits such as apples, pears, peaches, and berries, which have a gentler effect on blood sugar levels than tropical fruits like bananas, mangos, and pineapples.

Read more: http://www.mensjournal.com/health-fitness/nutrition/eat-more-fruit-but-not-more-smoothies-20130916#ixzz2hAPZzbBF 

One comment on “Whole Fruit vs Smoothies

  1. Pingback: Fruits | My Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

