What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Gout @ 26

“26 and you have the gout? that is unlikely” said my doctor when I went in with knee-pain.  This knee pain wasn’t from any kind of injury, fatigue or stress.  I went to bed one night and woke up the next morning feeling like I had been hit with a sledge hammer in my right knee.  I hobbled my way to the doctor and told him that I thought it was gout because of family history and the way it appeared out of nowhere.  He told me it was highly unlikely and asked if I wanted x-rays, I of course declined because I didn’t do anything to injure it.  He was still trying to push the x-rays when I re-affirmed that I thought I had gout in my knee.  He finally took some blood to be tested and prescribed me Colchicine.  I went on my way to the pharmacy and picked up my pills.  The gout subsided after a few days of treatment.

Fast-forward the next two years and I would get random gout attacks in my knee and my ankles.  I can tell you its like no other pain I have ever experienced.  It feels like sharp knives are being jammed into your joints.

“Gout is characterized by sudden, severe attacks of pain, redness and tenderness in joints, often the joint at the base of the big toe.

Gout — a complex form of arthritis — can affect anyone. Men are more likely to get gout, but women become increasingly susceptible to gout after menopause.

An acute attack of gout can wake you up in the middle of the night with the sensation that your big toe is on fire. The affected joint is hot, swollen and so tender that even the weight of the sheet on it may seem intolerable.” – Mayo Clinic

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/gout/DS00090

After I switched my eating ways to follow a Paleo lifestyle I haven’t had one gout attack.  I used to think it was from shellfish.  Before I went Paleo I stopped eating shellfish in fear of getting an attack but that never helped.  I was drinking a lot of beer and eating a lot of heavily processed foods.  When I say A LOT, I mean an unheard of amount of food.  I was at my unhealthiest those 2 years.  Going out and partying every night and eating like crap all day.  Im surprised gout was the only thing that bothered me at the time.

Two years after starting Paleo, I eat as much shellfish as possible.  It is my go to order at local restaurants where it is generally a Paleo safe option.  With no gout flair ups in 2 years I can safely say that Paleo has cured my gout and not some medicine that only works after you get the gout.  People were concerned that eating a lot of lean meat and shellfish would flair my gout up but I can honestly say I think it was heavily processed foods and beer that was causing the attacks.

“The next time your doctor or best friend says you’ll get gout from a Paleo diet, you can refer him or her to this article. Rest assured that a diet full of nutrient dense foods like grass-fed red meat, liver, shellfish, and fatty ocean fish is not putting you at risk for developing this painful condition. More likely to cause gout are the common American dietary staples such as sugar-sweetened beverages, industrial seed and vegetable oils, refined carbohydrates, and excessive alcohol (beer in particular). The Western diet pattern is a risk factor for gout; a nutrient-dense Paleo diet is not.” Chris Kresser

http://chriskresser.com/will-eating-a-paleo-diet-cause-gout

Just one of the many ways Paleo has changed my life!

Image

2 comments on “Gout @ 26

  1. Stephanie
    October 16, 2013

    Thank You for posting this! I am a 33 yr old female and I had my first GOUT flair up in my left big toe at the age of 31 (Gout runs in my family, My Dad who is not overweight and eats sensibly started getting gout in his 30’s) and when I told you I could have cut off my own foot and been happier with that pain I am not joking..I was in agony for 2 days, my toe and area surrounding was swollen, red and looked bruised! I went to a podiatrist who stuck a needle in my joint to aspirate some fluid to have it tested for gout and gave me a prescription for Indocine..within 2 days – GONE..Thank God, now my PC Dr. told me that it was because of 3 things, it was genetic, I am overweight and I was on a high protein, low carb diet and all the protein was aggravating my gout. Needless to say I listened to him and read other websites and saw that red meat, protein etc was bad and since have cut back on protein but added in the carbs again. I feel like I can’t win, I have not started my Paleo journey as of yet but I am doing my research and listening and preparing and I am thankful to hear that you have not experienced and Gout symptoms since you started. I have had 4 flair ups in 2 years and I pray to keep it away!

  2. Pingback: Apa itu Penyakit Go Out? (gout) Penyakit orang kaya? | majunmutiara

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

