What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Paleo Meatballs for a crowd

Ground Beef, Ground Pork and Bacon Meatballs.  I made these for the tugboat crew so it was a big batch.  I used 5LB. of ground-beef and 1 LB. of ground pork and 8 slices of thick cut bacon!  If doing a small batch I think it would be safe to use a mix of 1LB. ground beef to 1LB ground pork to get a more even flavor!

Ingredients:

  • 5LBS Ground Beef
  • 1 LB Ground Pork
  • 8-10 Slices thick cut bacon
  • 1 Bell Pepper
  • 1 Onion
  • 3 Carrots
  • 1/2 cup Ground Flax seed meal
  • 4 Eggs
  • chili powder, salt, pepper, ground mustard, cayenne all to taste

Directions:

  • Cut bacon into small pieces and cook until brown in skillet
  • set bacon aside and save grease
  • dice bell pepper, onion and carrot and sautee until softened
  • mix together all ingredients and form into same size balls ( I used a 1/2 cup measuring cup to make same size)
  • take reserved bacon grease and coat bottom of baking sheet or pan
  • place shaped meatballs onto pan
  • bake @350 20-25 mins

I cooked up some home made tomato sauce and a spaghetti squash for dinner.  If you just want to make a bunch of meatballs they are great for leftovers or snacks throughout the day!  The combo of pork, beef, and bacon is amazing, it is such a simple recipe but delicious!

20131108-222223.jpg

20131108-222235.jpg

12 comments on “Paleo Meatballs for a crowd

  1. Katrina R
    November 9, 2013

    Mmmm…the perfect meat trifecta: beef, pork and bacon! Sounds like a recipe for Albondigas ( aka Mexican Meatballs)

    2 parts ground beef to 1 part ground pork to 1/2 part partially rendered bacon rolled into walnut sized balls of meaty goodness and then cooked in a broth of tomato, onion and adobo-ed chipotle peppers ala La Costeña…

    • WWJME
      November 9, 2013

      That sounds amazing!!!

  2. I’ll have to try your spice blend, sounds good! I don’t feed a crowd too often these days but I still do big batches like this once a month. I usually add grated parm to mine since I still do dairy. I either make balls or patties and freeze them for quick meals all month. I use the cheap fold over baggies to individually wrap them them then put them into ziplock freezer bags. That way I can take out however many I need each time.

  3. D @ The Kosher Cave Girl
    November 9, 2013

    It might just be the angle/picture, but those look like some monster-sized meatballs. Can’t wait to try the recipe!

  4. rachelaugh
    November 9, 2013

    Drool….looks like I know what I’m making this week for dinner!

  5. LFFL
    November 13, 2013

    Oh, I just love meatballs. And these are SO in your face! Good job.

  6. Pingback: Quinoa Meatballs | Josie B's Baking

  7. Pingback: Recipe: Spaghetti with meatballs | Beerfoodie

  8. Amy
    February 16, 2014

    How many eggs would you use if you are just doing the smaller batch of 1lb each of them meats ? Thanks !

  9. Amy
    February 18, 2014

    Thank you so much !! cant wait to make these !

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2013 by in Dinner, Food.
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

