What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Fermented Veggies

I have an unhealthy obsession with sauerkraut but it turns out it is really a healthy relationship.  I eat sauerkraut right out of the jar, so much so that I think I might be German, guess I will have to spring for that Mercedes after all.  I usually buy the Bubbies brand sauerkraut when I can get it.  It is so crisp and fresh, it is amazing!  I guess it is fitting that I work on a tugboat because in the old times sailors would stock up on sauerkraut because it contains high levels of vitamin C, thus thwarting off scurvy…ARGGGGH!

“Sauerkraut originated in China, where it is known as “kimchi”, about 2,000 years ago, about the same time the Great Wall of China was being built. The laborers who built the Wall got their nourishment from rice and a type of cabbage pickled in wine.

Bubbies.com

Bubbies.com

It wasn’t until 1,000 years later that Genghis Khan plundered China and brought back the recipe for pickled cabbage, which his hordes then transported to Europe. The Germans (who gave it the name “sauerkraut”) then learned to omit the wine in the recipe, replacing it with salt. Which gave us sauerkraut as we know it today.”-Bubbies.com

What got me to post about this was my recent finding of fermented carrots and ginger.  I bought the jar because I love carrots and ginger so why not?  I first used it as a garnish for sautéed swiss chard and it was amazing.  The cold and crunchy texture it added to the warm, soft swiss chard was phenomenal.

Hawthorn Valley

Hawthorn Valley

fermented carrots and ginger on top of swiss chard

fermented carrots and ginger on top of swiss chard

Fermented veggies have been long touted for their ability help make your gut healthy.

“The proliferation of lactobacilli in fermented vegetables enhances their digestibility and increases vitamin levels. These beneficial organisms produce numerous helpful enzymes as well as antibiotic and anti carcinogenic substances. Their main by-product, lactic acid, not only keeps vegetables and fruits in a state of perfect preservation but also promotes the growth of healthy flora throughout the intestine.”Nourishingdays.com

I will leave all of the scientific information to the scientists.  I will just tell you to try it.  Fermented vegetables are amazing. They are cold, crispy, and full of health benefits.  I will be trying any fermented products I can get my hands on from here on out.  If a food is so full of health benefits, why not eat it?

WWJME

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11752847/?claim=48ad35zaesh”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

5 comments on “Fermented Veggies

  1. Mary Ann
    February 9, 2014

    Did you know Phelps New York (near Rochester) is the sauerkraut capital of the world? Yes, we do have sauerkraut ice cream.

    • WWJME
      February 10, 2014

      that sounds very interesting to say the least, hahah

  2. Ben @ Turf Growers
    February 10, 2014

    The Ginger carrots look amazing mate and a marriage made in heaven. Have to make my own though as unavailable in the UK

    Cheers. Ben

    • WWJME
      February 10, 2014

      I would love to make them but I have a pretty crazy schedule so fermenting them would be a problem

  3. Pingback: EAT YOUR SAUERKRAUT (YOGURT, KEFIR, AND BORSCH) | euzicasa

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2014 by in Food.
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

