What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Butternut Squash Frittata

I wish I had a cool story of why I made this breakfast, like a butternut squash came down from the heavens and hit me in the toe or a had a dream of making this for breakfast.  Nope! I had butternut squash in the fridge that was cubed up a few days before and I had too cook it or throw it away.  I was checking out my refrigerator situation and I had the items to bang out a frittata.  I decided to use the butternut squash as my crust.

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 cups of cubed butternut squash depending on size of cast-iron pan, mine is 10″ so I used 1 cup
  • 4 eggs – beaten
  • 2Tbsp of cooking fat(butter, ghee, bacon fat, coconut oil)
  • 1 cup Arugula
  • 3 Roma tomatoes, sliced
  • salt, pepper, seasonings to taste

Directions:

  1. heat oven to 400°
  2. place skillet on burner with cooking fat of choice and heat on high
  3. add butternut squash and heat up and stir around in cooking fat
  4. place in oven for 20-25 mins until squash is soft enough to mash
  5. mash into bottom of skillet, forming a crust over the entire skillet
  6. place back on stove-top burner and cook until crust gets crispy about 10 min. ( a good indication of a crispy crust is if it holds together when pan is moved )
  7. once crust is crisp enough, place beaten eggs over crust
  8. layer arugula and tomatoes on top of eggs
  9. bake for 10 more mins. in oven or until top is golden brown and eggs have set
  10. let cool for 5 mins
  11. slice and serve!
roasting cubed butternut squash

roasting cubed butternut squash

once it is roasted and soft enough, mash it into the bottom of the pan to form a crust

once it is roasted and soft enough, mash it into the bottom of the pan to form a crust

once crust is crispy and can hold together add eggs, tomatoes and arugula

once crust is crispy and can hold together add eggs, tomatoes and arugula

Finished frittata

Finished frittata

plated frittata, garnished with bacon

plated frittata, garnished with bacon

IMG_4728

look at that crispy crust

If you do it correctly the eggs should bind to the crust and your frittata will not miss the old days of having a flour crust.  This was one of my favorite breakfast meals I have made and it took minimal ingredients.  It did take a little time however but it was worth it.  I ate a few slices and now I have leftover frittata for a few days!  It is perfect to take on the go!  Once again if you prepare a big breakfast like this your odds of falling off the wagon are low when on the go.  Preparation is key!

-JM-

2 comments on “Butternut Squash Frittata

  1. littleblissbook
    February 19, 2014

    Nice! Super creative as well, wouldn’t think to make it like this

  2. Pingback: Marge Burkell – Frittata – Bacon & Cheese Recipe

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2014 by in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

