What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

How to Make Ghee!

When I went Paleo and started hearing a lot about ghee, I went to my local grocery store and picked up a container of ghee(Benefits of Ghee). I bought a jar of ghee made by Purity Farms.  When I first cooked with it I noticed the smell.  I honestly couldn’t even take the smell of it, let alone the flavor.  My whole meal tasted like this ghee.  I was turned off of ghee for a long time until I noticed everyone talking about a brand called OmGhee.  Let me tell you this ghee was 1,000 times better, it smelled sweet and it tasted amazing.  I was in shock that the two ghees I had tasted were so different.  You really get what you pay for.  OmGhee is a little pricey but it I would rather pay for quality over quantity.

When my last spoonful of OmGhee was gone it was tragic.  I would have to order it online and wait for it to ship and of course this was on a Thursday so it would probably ship after the weekend.  I decided to research how to make ghee.  When I need to make something I usually look for an Alton Brown way of doing things.  He was the host of a very fun food show called “Good Eats”.  Not only did he make great food on the the show, he showed you tips and tricks on how to make your life easier in the kitchen.  I googled Alton Brown ghee, and here is what I came up with: Ghee Recipe by Alton Brown.  I was off to the store to buy some grass-fed unsalted butter!  I bought a pound which is what the recipe below calls for.  It was $7.00.  Now that is $10 cheaper than OmGhee before shipping.  I am not saying I am not of fan of OmGhee, I am.  There are ways to get products just as good by making them at home with a little research and a little time!

Alton Brown's Ghee Recipe

CLICK TO ZOOM IN!

I followed the recipe exactly and the results were amazing!

Butter heating up.  Bring to boil then reduce heat.

Butter heating up. Bring to boil then reduce heat.

After the second forming of foam it is ready.

After the second forming of foam it is ready.

Straining with a fine mesh strainer!

Straining with a fine mesh strainer!

Ghee strained into a bowl

Ghee strained into a bowl

Ghee poured into an airtight container and refrigerated.

Ghee poured into an airtight container and refrigerated.

I would highly recommend making your ghee at home.  Not only will it have your house smelling amazing, it is easy and cheap.  If you refrigerate it like I do, it will last a long time!  I will never buy another jar of ghee, it only takes about 15 minutes all together and costs under $10.  This has also got me thinking of what else I can make at home instead of buying.  Watch out for further posts of home-made John Mack goodness.  I am turning into quite the DIY’er!  Go make some ghee now and you will thank me later!  

-JM-

2 comments on “How to Make Ghee!

  1. stephcormier
    February 20, 2014

    Been dying to make my own Ghee, thanks for posting!

    • WWJME
      February 20, 2014

      It is so easy with this recipe!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2014 by in Food.
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

