What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Homemade Almond Milk

Being a proponent of whey protein shakes after a workout, I need to mix it with something other than water.  Water gets boring, especially in a shake.  Now I know what you are saying “John Mack, whey isn’t considered Paleo”.  Personally I can handle dairy in moderation.  The type of whey you should be using should be a clean whey and from grass-fed cows.  I firmly believe in the benefits of whey protein to meet your protein needs for the day as well as after a workout.

When whey is taken after a workout, generally 30-60mins after, whey helps with muscle recovery and building of new lean muscle tissue.  Whey is the fastest absorbed of the protein powders, next being soy, egg, and casein.  I know, I know I should be taking egg protein, I have tried and whey helps me recover a lot faster than egg, so it works for me.  Find out what is right for you by trying egg vs whey after workouts.  Some people can’t handle dairy so egg is a great option for them.  Just because eggs are in the diary section of the grocery store doesn’t mean they are dairy!

Ok so to the point, typical almond milk is loaded with a whole slew of ingredients other than almonds and water.  Lets take a look at the ingredients of Almond Breeze Original Unsweetened, the brand you see everywhere:

INGREDIENTS:  ALMONDMILK (FILTERED WATER, ALMONDS), CALCIUM CARBONATE, SEA SALT, POTASSIUM CITRATE, CARRAGEENAN, SUNFLOWER LECITHIN, NATURAL FLAVOR, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, VITAMIN D2 AND D-ALPHA-TOCOPHEROL (NATURAL VITAMIN E). – AlmondBreeze.com

So lets take a look at a few of the ingredients in depth :

calcium carbonate – side effects may include : upset stomach, vomiting, stomach pain, constipation and more…

potassium citrate – side effects : are the same as above

carrageenan – read here  – can cause serious gut issues

With the combination of just the three ingredients listed above, your gut could be in serious pain!

There are cleaner options available like the brand Califia.  The ingredient list for their unsweetened almond milk is :

Almond Milk(filtered water, almonds) Contains Less Than 2% Of The Following: Vitamin/ Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin A, Vitamin E, Vitamin D2, Vitamin B12, Vitamin B2, Zinc), Gellan Gum, Carrageenan, Potassium Citrate, Sunflower Lecithin, Natural Flavors, Sea Salt.

So if you want clean almond milk, the safe option is to make your own!  It is easy but time consuming because you have to soak the almonds.  I went searching the internet for ways to make almond milk and used the recipe found here : TheKitchn.com

I followed the instructions exactly and came up with some great almond milk.  My only advice would be to split the batch in half and put it in the blender.  I say this because I threw everything into my blender and burnt it out.  So today I will be heading out to the store to get a new blender and soaking some more nuts.

IMG_4736

strain and rinse almonds. I used a fine mesh strainer

strain and rinse almonds. I used a fine mesh strainer

placed in blender, split up batches or you will be buying a new blender like me

placed in blender, split up batches or you will be buying a new blender like me

adding fresh water to blender

adding fresh water to blender

here we go. RIP blender

here we go. RIP blender

bottled in a sealable glass bottle

bottled in a sealable glass bottle

6 comments on “Homemade Almond Milk

  1. Lauren Olivia Ledford
    February 21, 2014

    I make an awesome Cashew Milk- try soaking the nuts in coconut water! It adds a great flavor:)

  2. rachelaugh
    February 21, 2014

    don’t you end up straining the almonds through a cheesecloth as well after blending? Just curious.

    • littleblissbook
      February 21, 2014

      Hi rachelaugh. Straining through a cheese cloth is a method you can use, it’s what I do. And so you don’t waste the pulp, you can always dry the remnants from the cheesecloth in the sun and then place the dried almond pulp in a blender to make almond meal:)

  3. littleblissbook
    February 21, 2014

    Homemade almond milk is the only thing I drink, none of that almond breeze stuff. Tastes better too.

  4. Steph
    February 26, 2014

    Does anyone know how to make almond milk using almost butter?

    • Steph
      February 26, 2014

      Almond butter that is, woops

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2014 by in Food.
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

