What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

PaleoOnTheGo.com

Last week the fine folks at PaleoOnTheGo.com offered to send me some of their products to try and review.  They asked me to be honest with them and I wouldn’t have done it any other way.  I am skeptical of people offering products that claim to be just as delicious as homemade meals.  This was no different.

Friday rolled around and I got a box delivered by FedEx.  I opened the box and the food was packed in a styrofoam cooler surrounded by dry ice.  The food was still frozen and the dry ice was still doing its job.  I had never ordered food like this before so I was happy to see the shipping methods working correctly.  In the box I had 4 entrees and a paleo snack bar.  The food was  packaged in individually sealed plastic with a label on each that includes cooking instructions and ingredients.

The first entree I had thawed out was the Chicken Chile Relleno.  Now I don’t have a microwave so everything I reheat has to be on the stove or in the oven.  I took the relleno out of the bag and put it in the cast-iron skillet along with all of the juice from the salsa verde.  I was nervous of it drying out when cooked in the oven but I was impressed.  It was one of the juiciest, tastiest chicken dishes I have had in a long time.  I was sold on the taste and quality from the first meal.  I was also inspired by the dish, it is so unique and tasty.

chilerelleno

The second meal I had was was the Butternut Sqaush Lasagna with beef.  I had seen Paleo versions of lasagna, but I have never attempted to try it.  Instead of ricotta they make a cashew basil “ricotta”, it tastes just like ricotta cheese, if you didn’t read the label you wouldn’t have a clue that is was dairy free.  Once again I warmed this up in the oven and it was delicious and tasted like I cooked and prepped food for hours, but it only took ten minutes.  Butternut squash noodles?  Absolutely delicious!

ButtSquash

The last entree I tried was their Mushroom Bacon Stuffed Chicken w/ Mustard-Thyme Sauce!  Once again into the oven it went.  Once again my tastebuds were shocked.  This was delicious!  Such an amazing combination of flavors in one piece of chicken.  The earthy mushrooms and salty bacon pairs so well with the tangy mustard thyme sauce.

chickenthigh

They also included their Pecan Paleo ‘on the go’ bar.  I thawed it out and took it on the road.  It was such a dense and filling snack.  I could really pick up the cherry and cocoa notes.  It was amazing and I thought it would pair nicely with a cup of coffee.  This would be a great option for travelers and people ‘on the go’.

pecanbar

Overall I would highly recommend their products.  From the five items I tasted I was very impressed!  It is a prefect meal option for people who want to eat Paleo who don’t think they have enough time in the day to cook.  “I don’t have time to cook, so I can’t do Paleo” is the statement I hear the most from people.  Well people here you go, here is the option that can help you eat Paleo.  It is delivered right to your front door, all you have to do is throw it in the freezer and defrost it when you need it.

This is also great for people who want to try different types of food.  If you are already following a Paleo lifestyle and need some inspiration here you go.  I never thought about making a chile relleno, but now that I tried it and it is amazing I will be trying to make it.  Order some food and get inspired! Where else can you try cashew basil “ricotta”?  It is amazing!

Not only do they have amazing food, they have amazing people working there.  I have been in contact with them for the last week and let me tell you they are the nicest people I have dealt with.  They are passionate about what they do how they do it.  They are so kind they decided to throw in some free cookies if you are a first time customer and a WWJME follower!  Once again, give them a shot.  Let them do all of the handwork and you can just enjoy their delicious food!  John Mack Approved!

-JM-

wwjme-ad

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2014 by in Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Lunch, Snacks.
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

