What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Lemon Zest Brussels Sprouts

In an act of desperation, meaning I had minimal food in my fridge, I threw together this gem.  I was so hungry when I woke up from a double session of workouts the night before and too lazy to go to the store this is what happened.

Contents of my fridge:

  • Brussels Sprouts on the stalk
  • almond milk
  • 3 strips of bacon
  • lemons
  • gallon of water
  • various condiments

I decided to chop up the bacon and pan fry it, shave the brussels on my mandolin(here). After the bacon was done frying I threw in the shaved sprouts, salt and pepper and the juice of half a lemon.  I sautéed until the sprouts were just starting to wilt.  When finished cooking I garnished with lemon zest.

It was actually pretty amazing.  I think some of my best meals are made by accident.  This will be a staple in my side-dish repertoire.

photo 5

2 comments on “Lemon Zest Brussels Sprouts

  1. adashofmeg
    April 9, 2014

    mmmmmmm i love b sprouts

  2. Pingback: Best of the Bloggies: April | Irene the Fitness Fiend

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2014 by in Food, Snacks and tagged , , , .
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

