What Would John Mack Eat?

Paleo / Primal / Bacon / CleanEats Lifestyle

Kitchen Gadget I love

I love gadgets, my close friends know that all too well.  I used to be an electronic gadget guy but now that has moved onto kitchen gadgets.  If I had a bigger kitchen it would be loaded with all of the gadgets I could afford.  I am not talking about little gimmicky gadgets like a garlic peeler or chopper but useful gadgets, gadgets like a mandolin.

I am a big fan of the TV show chopped on Food Network.  I noticed that all of the chef’s when using a mandoline would use a light green style mandoline.  I searched high and low for the brand of slicer on the show, figuring it was a Food Network branded slicer, it was not.  One day I was watching a show with the chef Marc Murphy and he was describing his favorite must-haves and he mentioned the Japanese Mandoline slicer.  He held it up and there it was, the light-green gadget I was looking for.

I had owned mandolins before but they are generally garbage.  I had one that fell apart when I was slicing, and others that just don’t stay sharp.  Also, some mandolines out there are HUGE and huge $.  So I went on Amazon.com and found the Japanese slicer HERE.

The Benriner Slicer is a professional piece of equipment that no chef should be without. Its sharp super high quality stainless steel blades provide a clean and sharp cut to any vegetable. It comes equipped with 3 different blades giving you the ability to slice in many various ways.The standard flat blade cuts perfect slices which can be easily adjusted for thickness. The fine toothed blade will help you create elegant vegetable garnishes for professional looking meals. Great for carrots, radishes, or any other firm vegetable. The medium toothed blade is excellent for quick and easy uniform stir-fry pieces that will cook up in a flash. Suitable for almost any vegetable- try onions, peppers, radishes, beets, zucchini, etc. The coarse toothed blade can make chunky and crisp cuts of vegetable or fruits. Great for potatoes, onions, radishes, cucumbers, carrots, apples, peaches, etc. The slicer also comes equipped with a safety device which comes in very handy when working with small pieces of produce. Helps to make good cooks better!-Amazon product description

91ze2BbrZYL._SL1500_

 

I honestly love this item.  I paid $25 for it and it comes with 3 bonus attachment blades which connect with two set-screws.  As fellow Paleo’ers you know about the zoodles, well these 3 extra blades make zoodles out of everything from super-thick to super-thin.  I make sweet potato chips, carrot fries, parsnip fries and every kind of zoodle with these blades.  The construction of this is heavy-duty plastic and can take a beating. The blade is also razor-sharp so be careful and use the plastic guide it comes with.

I will never go without one of these again.  It is also small enough to travel with.  I highly recommend this product!  My only complaint would be that it is kind of narrow, they have a wide-body slicer(here) that I will buy when it is time for a new one!  Buy one! You will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2014 by in Food.
Stalkerville My Gallery Badge

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

